fitmom

Pregnancy: Weeks 28-32

Week 28: The Belly Bandit “Upsie Belly” has arrived! And I’ve figured out the groin pain is definitely related to over-stretching my already “lax” left hip Joint. Lots of discoveries this week! 

I highly recommend getting some sort of “support belt” if you’re experiencing pressure or “heaviness” from the added weight of the baby. It’s also been amazing support for my SI Joint issues of the past! 

So, I continue running …slower…but still chugging along πŸƒπŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ‘πŸΌ

As far as yoga is concerned, I’ve only been able to make it to 1 or 2 classes a week and that’s probably for the best. I did take my baby girl with me to our first “real” class together and she did amazingly well! 

Week 29:  Time is ticking and I can’t seem to get a grip on the nursery! πŸ’πŸΌ I know, first world issues! But I really thought a stars/strips/all-American nursery would be simple yet classy… classy still holds but simple…not so much! The searches continue…

Week 28 had brought with it some Braxton-Hicks contractions which I must say, totally freaked me out at first! The first one happened on a super busy morning at work and it really didn’t surprise me after I realized what was happening. The second one was a bit more alarming and I was in my office at work and able to lift my shirt in time to see baby boy’s full body outline! Totally crazy and started to bring back laboring memories from my first pregnancy. 

Rain has kept me in from running but that’s been fine with this new “symptom of pregnancy” as I began thinking it was happening due to warmer temps and pushing too hard! 

After sharing the situations with my midwife at my bi-weekly appointment, she assured me it was all good and to let them know if the BH contractions were occurring more than 4-5 times in an hour! So far, so good πŸ‘πŸΌ 

Running continues with my belly bandit…slowly, but still moving πŸƒπŸ½β€β™€οΈπŸ™πŸ» And as far as yoga, it’s heading toward the back burner. But I’ll look forward to it post-partum!!! I just can’t get comfortably into most of the positions so my time is better spent elsewhere, and not even allowing my personally competitive self to compete with self 😳

Week 30:  At times, this week has been a rough pill to swallow! I consider myself a pretty positive person, but I’ve lost heart a few times this week. My growing belly is such a blessing, butnits so hard when you’re so used to being so active to come to the realization that it’s time to back off. I’m down to one yoga class a week and it’s messing with my mind. It’s become more agonizing to go to the class just to have to modify every movement than it is to throw in the towel, so for the safety of baby and I, I’m throwing it on the back burner and attempting at least one class a week. This is HUGE progress in my own personally competitive mind! 

Baby boy continues to be soooooo very active, at times nauseating because of the intensity of his movements. But I celebrate each movement as it means he’s healthy and happy! 

I’m starving all the time and am sick of eating πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­THE STRUGGLE IS REAL 😜

My runs have been good (30 week mark had some good stats!) but it’s a day-to-day thing as far as my intensity and time. Some days I feel much better and stronger than others and visa versa! Still very thankful for every step… every mile! 

I have the next week off so I look forward to some relaxation and quality time with my baby girl as she helps me finish baby brother’s nursery! 

Week 31:  Of course this week has come and gone because it is my last “break” with my baby girl before baby boy arrives! It was nice to get a morning yoga class in… even if I had to make a lot of modifications 😊 Just reminding myself to breathe at this point is so therapeutic! I also love being able to take and pick up Kacie from preschool and simply run errands and perform the daily with her! I was able to schedule my bi-weekly appointment so she could go with me, too  and of course made an afternoon of it by hitting up Whole Foods for some lunch. A girl after my own heart 😘😍 Everything went well at the appointment, Praise God! 

We came home and got busy making some “homemade ice cream” I’d seen in my Facebook feed, too!!! It was awesome and NUTRITIOUS so when she wanted to eat ALL of it, I encouraged! ❀️ we also made some “energy bites”–recipe from the back of the flax seed bag from Trader Joe’s πŸ‘πŸΌ


Running is still moving along…just trying to literally go with the flow and go with each mile I can maintain. I seem to be settling into an average 9:20ish minute mile for my splits, give or take a few seconds, but the first mile always starts somewhere around 10 minutes. I try not to let that get in my head—I’M PREGNANT AFTER ALLL!!!  

Week 32:  wow! I’ve fallen behind! Certainly not on growing this baby watermelon but on journaling!!!! (Currently 35 weeks!) Allow me to rewind! 

My pregnancy running journey is coming to a close this week. Looking back at my Strava data… my last 5 miler was May 19 at about a 9:20 pace. I recall this feeling pretty good, but something was telling me things were changing. 

As a runner, we love the challenge that running provides. If we didn’t like that, we wouldn’t do it! Who just runs for fun!?! Real runners do! But this gets tricky for me because at times, it’s forced me to take my body places that it really wasn’t meant to go. So enter <pregnancy> and now you have a whole new level of running humility. 

Anyways, my official last run was the Sunday after the one I just mentioned. It was uncomfortable, unenjoyable and I feel it was definitely my body’s way of “weaning” me before the whammy of hearing the doc say at my appointment that week, “so, I encourage my patients to stop running at this point in their pregnancy…” Her justification: the increased weight of the uterus can compress some pretty important arteries and cut off <important> blood supply to the baby as well as trauma running can cause to the pelvic floor at this point. 

So, OK! I threw in the towel. But she said I can elliptical my way until Delivery Day. So you better believe that’s what we’re doing! 

And just for fun…


Each picture was taken at a slightly different angle, so kind of difficult to compare, but just so fascinating to me that the human body is able to host multiple babies at different times. Just simply amazing to my small mind πŸ’žπŸ’™

Leave a Reply

